RSS

I love winter!

19 Jan

Sundogs photographed at the University of Mary, Bismarck - photo by Erica Hager

The headline is 100% completely true in my case. Winter is my favorite season. I love the snow. I love the sparkle. I love the cold. “What?!!” you ask, “You love cold?” Yes – I love the cold. North Dakota was making some headlines this week for being colder than some places in Antarctica. Here in Bismarck this morning it was -25°. (As I write this at noon, it’s already warmed up to 11°. A 30/40/50-degree temperature shift is not uncommon here.)

You might wonder how anyone could love the cold. This morning on my way to a workshop, I drove over the Missouri River.  The River hasn’t completely iced over, so a thick fog was rising from the open water (which was obviously warmer than the air temperature). That fog is cool. The crispness of the air – literally cool. It makes your senses alert, and you hear how loud the crunch of footsteps become. There’s a sharpness to your breath. The air is so clean that the sun dogs around the sun seem to make it twice as bright.

Without winter there wouldn’t be snowmobiling, sledding, outdoor skating rinks, ice fishing, snowkiting, cross-country skiing, snowboarding, dog sledding and much more. What’s your favorite winter activity? Where do you find the beauty of this season?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in Winter Fun

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “I love winter!

  1. Brian

    January 19, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Agreed, not sure it is my favorite…but…The cold is just a unique experience…everyone should experience it at some point…it is refreshing…real…and quite exhilarating to step out in. Nice post.

     
  2. betty

    February 2, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    I agree with the beauty of undisturbed snow or frosted glistened surroundings….a beautiful picture… also of folks enjoying the sports of winter on a perfect winter day….however most of the winter days are far from perfect with the howling wind and the stinging of the cold and those picture perfect days are so limited. I am from North Dakota also and prefer to be on the inside looking out! (very nice article however!!) The warmth of the fireplace and the bread baking in the oven are nice pictures too.

     
  3. Erica Hager

    February 15, 2011 at 11:42 am

    wow! what a nice surprise to see my photo 🙂 I’m honored.
    Thanks for a great blog.

     
  4. legendarynd

    February 15, 2011 at 11:51 am

    And thank YOU for allowing use of such a great photo Erica!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
